New App Wants To Help You See if Your iPhone Has Been Hacked

System and Security Info is an app designed to show you if someone is spying

System and Security Info is an app designed to show you if someone is spying

If you have jailbroken your iPhone and are now worried about the security of your device, then this could be the app for you.

When you jailbreak an iPhone – you remove the software restrictions imposed by Apple on the iOS operating system and can install unapproved apps, change the look of your device and add extensions not available on the App Store.

Apple ends all warranty and support after a device is jailbroken.

By opening up iOS to more customisation options, a jailbroken iPhone also allows hackers more opportunity to access your device and the data stored on it.

The app tells you whether or not any anomalies have been detected on your phone

The app tells you whether or not any anomalies have been detected on your phone

If you purchased an iPhone second-hand, had it stolen and later returned, you might not even be aware that your iPhone is jailbroken.

Now an app has launched that will reveal all about your iPhone's security settings including whether or not it has been hacked.

Dubbed System and Security Info, the app shows detailed information about your device.

One of the app's unique features is a jailbreak and anomaly detection that can help security concerned users to check for potential privacy issues and security threats.

If the app reveals your phone has had a jailbreak without your knowledge, you should probably contact Apple support immediately.

For those who know their device has been jailbroken, System and Security Info can also check to make sure that no malware has been installed.

The launch of this app comes after Apple users were targeted with another text message scam.

Express.co.uk was made aware of the swindle that attempts to trick users into handing over sensitive and very private date.

The new message claims to be from Apple's iSupport.

The text claims to be from Apple – and tells iPhone owners to follow a URL to save their account

The text claims to be from Apple – and tells iPhone owners to follow a URL to save their account

Users' real names are used at the beginning of the text with the message saying: "Your iCloud ID is due to expire today."

Apple fans are then asked to click a link to prevent deletion.

We've clicked on the link and found that it takes you to an official looking Apple account – if you get this message DON'T click on the link.

Apple warns users about fakes emails and texts which often appear legitimate. 

The URL in the text message takes users to a terrifyingly convincing Apple iCloud login portal

The URL in the text message takes users to a terrifyingly convincing Apple iCloud login portal

A message on the US tech firm's website explains the dangers of these malicious emails, stating: "The iTunes Store will never ask you to provide personal information or sensitive account information (such as passwords or credit card numbers) via email.

"Email messages that contain attachments or links to non-Apple websites are from sources other than Apple, although they may appear to be from the iTunes Store.

"Most often, these attachments are malicious and should not be opened.

"You should never enter your Apple account information on any non-Apple website."

These scams appear to becoming more common with more people than ever becoming targets for cyber thieves.

Last November Apple users were hit by a similar scam which claimed they had purchased a TomTom sat nav app.

The fake email then tried to tempt users into clicking a fake cancellation form at the bottom of the email.

Although the email said it was sent from the iTunes Store, the message actually originated from a fake email address.

Meanwhile, scams that attempt to trick users with the same type of text message as above have also been attempted before.

The news comes as Apple patented an ingenious way to save everyone from embarassing autocorrect mistakes.